Friday, May 18, 2018

Deadpool 2

Plot:
Deadpool (Ryan Reynolds) puts together a team in order to protect a young boy (Julian Denneson) from a time traveling mutant named Cable (Josh Brolin). 

Pros:
•Ryan Reynolds has done it again! He really was meant to be this character. I love how he can poke fun of himself and certain points in his career that we all like to pretend never happened. 
•Still very funny. Most of the jokes I thought worked. 
•This marks two movies in a row where I’ve seen Josh Brolin play a great villain. Of course Thanos is by far the best, but Cable was really good. A lot more three dimensional than I was expecting. 
•Fight scenes were even more brutal than even the first movie. 
•A lot of fun and surprising cameos. 
•The mid credit scenes alone were worth the price of admission. Also bumped up my rating a bit. 

Cons:
•I felt like the middle dragged quite a bit. Also, a few of the jokes in this part felt a bit forced. Whereas in the first Deadpool all of the jokes felt natural. 
•While I enjoyed this movie a lot and highly recommend it, I still like the first better. 

My Rating: 9/10

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Finding Your Feet

Plot:
Sandra (Imelda Staunton), a middle class women on the verge of retirement, discovers that her husband has been having an affair with her best friend. She then moves in with her bohemian sister. 

Pros:
•Stellar cast
•Story was sweet and at times very moving. 
•The perfect type of movie to take your Mom or Grandma to. 
•If you’re a fan of British humor or just British movies in general I definitely think you’ll enjoy this. 
•Some fun dance sequences. 
•Pretty locations

Cons:
•Extremely predictable. Nearly everything I guessed would happen when I first saw the trailer happens. That’s not to say I didn’t like the movie. I really did. Just a few more surprises would’ve been nice. 
•Could’ve used some tighter editing. Some scenes needed to be trimmed down or removed all together. 
•A few cheesy moments. 

My Rating: 7.5/10

Sunday, May 6, 2018

Hitler’s Hollywood

Plot:
Documentary about German cinema from 1933 when the Nazis came into power until their collapse in 1945. 

Pros:
•If you’re into history, specifically this time period, I think you’ll find this both fascinating and horrifying. I know I did. While I wouldn’t suggest paying money to see this in theaters, I’d say it’s worth checking out if you come across it on Netflix or the History Channel. 

Cons:
•Too much narration. I understand that it’s kind of necessary in a movie like this but still. I’ve always believed that showing is better than telling. Also, the guy they got to do the narration had a voice that was so monotone that it was putting me to sleep. 
•Some sloppy editing in the beginning. 

My Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, April 27, 2018

Avengers: Infinity War

Plot:
The Avengers must come together again, this time to try and stop Thanos (Josh Brolin) before he gets all of the Infinity Stones and wipes out half the universe. 


I had planned on writing a full review of this movie but I can’t bring myself to do it. For one, it’s better to go into this knowing as little as possible. While my reviews are generally spoiler free it would be very hard to talk about Infinity War without giving anything away. I refuse to be one of those assholes. And secondly, I’m still numb and trying to process what I just saw. 

All I’ll say is- Ten years of movies have all lead up to this. And boy it didn’t disappoint. Thank you Russo brothers for creating this amazing movie that was everything I hoped it would be and more. Easily the best movie I’ve seen this year. I doubt anything is going to top this one. 

Do I recommend it? FUCK YEAH I DO! Just make sure to bring a box of tissues and, if you’re of age, a bottle of your favorite alcohol. 

My Rating: 10/10

Friday, April 20, 2018

Tyler Perry’s Acrimony

Plot:
Melinda (Taraji P. Henson) becomes enraged when it appears that her husband Robert (Lyriq Bent) has betrayed her. 


I was planning on doing my typical review where I list pros and cons and give my rating. But this is Tyler Perry we’re talking about here.  It’s not your typical movie. Plus it’s better going into this knowing as little as possible. 

I’ll start out by saying that everything you’ve probably heard about Acrimony was right. It’s complete shit but the kind that’s so bad it’s hysterical. Seriously, I haven’t had this much fun watching a movie in a long time. 

I’m not knocking Tyler Perry at all. He seems like a really nice guy and I respect him as a businessman. But he’s lost his fucking mind (a long time ago actually). Not that that’s a bad thing. Quite the opposite. I want him to keep making more movies like this. These “dramas” are funnier than his movies that are suppose to be comedies. 

Taraji P. Henson sure can play crazy well. Such an amazing actress. Way too good for a movie like this but I’m glad she was in it. 

Apparently the movie was shot in only 8 days. I believe it because it looks cheap and rushed. Although technically it’s more competently shot than most Tyler Perry movies I’ve seen. 

The last part of the movie is where things really go off the deep end. Something you have to see in order to believe it. It’s worth the price of admission alone. 

Get a bunch of friends together, have a few drinks, and watch this movie. You’ll have a good time I promise. 

My Rating: 5/10

Sunday, April 15, 2018

Isle of Dogs

Plot:
After all dogs are exiled to a place called Trash Island, one 12 year old boy goes in search of his dog Spots. 

Pros:
•I tend to avoid most movies about dogs since I usually end up an emotional mess every time. But when I heard it was directed by Wes Anderson and was getting good word of mouth I knew I had to see it. I’m so glad I did. This was one of the most well made, charming movies I’ve seen in awhile. 
•Beautiful looking movie. I’ve always been a huge fan of stop motion animation. The amount of time and effort that went into every little detail is incredible. 
•An all star cast of actors (many of whom are frequent Wes Anderson collaborators) did a great job with providing voices for the characters. I especially enjoyed Bryan Cranston. 
•Well written, heartfelt, and surprisingly funny story. 
•Something both adults and kids can enjoy. Older kids though since it is PG-13 and there are several disturbing moments throughout. 
•Wonderful and respectful tribute to Japanese culture. 

Cons:
•Some people aren’t going to like the fact that only one character aside from the dogs speak English. The rest speak entirely in Japanese with no subtitles. It took some getting use to but after awhile I was fine with it. 
•I don’t consider this a spoiler since it’s brought up in the trailer but was anyone else disturbed by the fact that the American exchange student character, whom I believe they say is in high school, has a crush on a 12 year old boy? 

My Rating: 9/10

Bombshell: The Hedy Lamarr Story

Plot:
Documentary about the life and career of actress and inventor Hedy Lamarr. 

Pros:
•Going into this movie I wasn’t sure what to expect. I had vaguely heard of Hedy Lamarr before but didn’t know that much about her other than that she was an actress. I’m glad I saw this because it was very interesting and insightful. It gave you a sense of who she really was. 
•One of the things I found very interesting was that not only was Hedy a beautiful actress but she was actually a brilliant inventor as well. One of her patents served as the basis for many things we use today- WiFi, gps, Bluetooth, etc. 
•Great interviews with her family and friends as well as several people in the film industry who admired her. 
•If you’re into documentaries and or are a Hedy Lamarr fan I’d definitely suggest checking this out. While I wouldn’t call it perfect or anything, I’d say it’s worth your time. 

Cons:
•Drags just a bit in the middle. 

My Rating: 8/10