Sunday, February 18, 2018

The Greatest Showman

Plot:
Musical version of the life of PT Barnum (Hugh Jackman). 

Pros:
•I can definitely see why this movie has had such strong staying power at the box office. While not perfect, it’s one of those feel good movies that the whole family can enjoy and will have you walking out of the theater with a big smile on your face. With all the sadness going on in the world right now, we needed something like this.
•You can tell just how much fun Hugh Jackman was having. Definitely a passion project for him. It’s so weird seeing him go from something like Logan (one of my favorite movies of last year) to this. It just goes to show you what a brilliant and versatile actor he is. 
•The best part of the movie for me was of course all of the musical numbers. Damn it they sure are catchy! I’ll have them stuck in my head for awhile for sure. 
•If you had told me years ago that I would be praising a Zac Efron performance I would’ve told you you were crazy. He’s really good in this and I enjoyed his subplot with Zendaya. 

Cons:
•The story itself is a little weak. It’s certainly not bad but I wouldn’t call it great either. It’s very predictable. No big surprises. Still I highly recommend it especially if you’re a fan of musicals. 

My Rating: 8/10

The Insult

Plot:
When an insult between a Palestinian refugee and a Christian nationalist leads to a heated exchange it finds the two men ending up in court. The case gets national attention. 

Pros:
•I really didn’t know anything about this movie going into it other than the fact that it’s nominated for Best Foreign Language Film at this years Oscars. Now that I’ve watched it I can definitely see why. WOW!! What a compelling, well written movie. 
•One of the things I loved the most is that unlike many movies of this type, they don’t try to say, “This guy is definitely right and this guy is definitely wrong.” There’s a whole grey area. I appreciate it not be quite so predictable. 
•Strong acting, especially by the two leads. 
•I’ve seen many courtroom dramas in my time. Some good and some downright awful. This was definitely the former. It sucked me right in and had me on the edge of my seat. If you like these types of movies I highly recommend it. 

Cons:
•Started off a little slow. Not to the point where I felt sleepy or felt the urge to look at the clock but it had me thinking, “Okay, this isn’t bad or anything but where are they going with this?” Luckily it picks up the pace once you get to the courtroom scenes. 

My Rating: 9/10

Friday, February 16, 2018

Black Panther (IMAX)

Plot:
Following the events of Civil War, T’Challa (Chadwick Boseman) returns home to the technologically advanced nation of Wakanda to take up his rightful place as King. 

Pros:
•I have been looking forward to this movie ever since Black Panther was introduced in Civil War and boy it did not disappoint. This is right on up there with the original Avengers and Civil War as one of my favorite Marvel movies. AHHHHHHH!!!!! OH MY GOD!!! OH MY GOD!!! Sorry, now that I’ve that out of my system I can continue with my review. 
•Chadwick Boseman was once again amazing as King T’Challa/Black Panther. I must say they’re are also some really bad ass female characters. I can’t remember the actress’s name but T’Challa’s sister was by far one of my favorite characters. 
•Ryan Coogler is quickly becoming one of my favorite directors. He was one of the writers on this as well and holy shit he does such an amazing job not only with an action packed yet heartfelt story with a powerful message but creating this beautiful country right down to the smallest detail. 
•Gorgeous locations. If you have an IMAX screen near you I highly recommended you see this in that format. 
•When I first saw the trailers, I wasn’t sure what to make of Michael B. Jordan’s character but he was amazing and in my opinion one of the best villains Marvel has ever had. You learn his backstory and end up really feeling for him and totally understand why he ended up the way he did. 
•Bad ass soundtrack. Will definitely be listening to it over and over again on Spotify. 
•This goes without saying but STAY FOR THE CREDITS! There’s two scenes (one in the middle and one at the end) and they’re both fantastic. 
•There’s so much more I want to say but I don’t want to spoil anything. I absolutely love this movie and will definitely be seeing this a few more times in theaters. 

Cons:
•The only thing that is stopping me from giving this a perfect rating is a few (very brief) moments of questionable cgi. 

My Rating: 9.5/10

Friday, February 9, 2018

Fifty Shades Freed

Plot:
Final installment in the Fifty Shades trilogy. About damn time. 

Pros:
•IT’S OVER! IT’S FINALLY OVER! I never have to see another one of these movies again. I’m so happy this didn’t follow that stupid trend (with the exception of the last Harry Potter movies, in that case it was necessary) of splitting the last book into two movies. 
•Don’t get me wrong, the movie was a piece of shit. But oh what glorious shit it was! I haven’t laughed so hard during a movie in awhile. I think what made it so fun was the audience we saw it with, including the two women sitting next to us. To quote one of them- “Jesus Christ! It’s like there’s a sex scene every three minutes!!” Because of this I can’t really give this movie any lower of a rating than I already am. 
•It’s thankfully not over two hours long like each of previous movies were. I think it was a little over an hour and forty minutes. Moved at a fairly decent pace. 
•I love how Jamie Dornan and Dakota Johnson clearly don’t give a shit anymore. This was just a paycheck to them. 
•Now Jamie Dornan can finally move on to other things. I know it sounds crazy but he really can act. Don’t judge him by this. I highly recommend his recent World War 2 film Anthropoid. 
•I highly recommend if you do choose to watch this do it with a group of friends. Trust me it’s way more fun. 
•Thank god for Movie Pass! 

Cons:
•Same issues the rest of the movies have. The sex scene are awkward and boring as fuck. If this stuff gets you off there’s something seriously wrong with you. Just go watch porn instead. 
•Terrible “writing”
•God awful soundtrack (the score by Danny Elfman was fine but kind of forgettable)

My Rating: 5/10

Friday, February 2, 2018

Phantom Thread

Plot:
Reynolds Woodcock (Daniel Day Lewis) is a world renown dressmaker whose life is suddenly disrupted when he meets a strong willed woman named Alma (Vicky Krieps). 

Pros:
•I’ll give Paul Thomas Anderson this much, his movies are always gorgeous. This one being no exception. The cinematography alone is absolutely stunning. 
•Supposedly this is Daniel Day Lewis final role. Although I’ll believe it when I see it since so many celebrities say they’re retiring and then pop up again years later. Anyway, he was good here. Although it’s far from great. So why am I putting this in the pros section? Because it’s Daniel Day Lewis. Even a performance that isn’t his best is still a million times better than most actors out there. 
•The supporting cast was good as well. 
•So many beautiful dresses! Major props to the costume department. 

Cons:
•The movie just dragged...and dragged...and dragged. Had I not drank an iced coffee just before seeing this I probably would’ve nodded off. I don’t have a problem with slow movies but good god was this a chore to get through! 
•I left the theater feeling not mad but detached. Maybe that was the point of the movie but I still wish I was able to connect with the characters in some form. 
•If I didn’t make it a point to see all of the Best Picture nominees every year I most likely wouldn’t have watched this. At least not in theaters anyway. 
•That ending.... what in the actual fuck?!?!

My Rating: 6.5/10

Sunday, January 14, 2018

Darkest Hour

Plot:
During the early days of World War II, newly appointed Prime Minister Winston Churchill (Gary Oldman) must decide wether to negotiate a peace treaty with Hitler or stand firm and fight. 

Pros:
•I’m a huge fan of British period pieces. And one starring the great Gary Oldman? Sign me up! I’ve been wanting to see this movie for awhile now and it did not disappoint. 
•Gary Oldman completely transforms himself and delivers an Oscar worthy performance. I really think he’s going to win this year. When I was watching this, especially whenever he would give a speech, I didn’t see him- I saw Winston Churchill. 
•Strong supporting cast, I especially enjoyed Lily Evans who plays Churchill’s secretary. 
•Director Joe Wright once again nails done the look and feel of the time period. 

Cons:
•Does drag a bit in a few spots. 
•This is just a minor nitpick but every so often on the screen in very large letters they would put the date the events were taking place. Completely unnecessary. 
•Ends rather abruptly. I understand why they chose to end it there but still, I would’ve liked to have seen a bit more. 

My Rating: 8.5/10

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Sicario

I know what many of you must be thinking. WHAT??? How the fuck have you not seen this movie yet? Trust me, I've had plenty of friends ask me that over the last three years. Hell I'm surprised I haven't watched this sooner since I absolutely love crime thrillers. But I promised myself that the next time the movie was on a streaming service I would watch it. Sure enough, it recently popped up on Amazon so here we are. 

This is going to be a super short since most people have seen this movie by now. Just wanted to give a couple of quick thoughts. 

So what did I think? Well honestly.... IT'S FUCKING AMAZING!! Why oh why did I wait so long? Holy shit. 

I've quickly become a huge fan of both director Denis Villeneuve and writer Taylor Sheridan. Here they once again have created this amazing story that sucks you into this world right from the very beginning. They waste no time dropping you in on the action, which doesn't shy away from some pretty brutal violence. I also enjoyed the stunning cinematography and the way certain scenes were filmed in night/thermal vision which was pretty cool. 

The entire cast was great. I like Emily Blunt and it was nice to see her play a very different role than what I'm use to. My favorite though was Benico del Toro. He doesn't have much dialog at all but I think it works and only adds more to the mysteriousness of his character. I definitely got a Punisher vibe from him, although even The Punisher would look at some of the things Benicio does in this movie and go, "GOD DAMN!"  

This is definitely a movie I'll be revisiting on a regular basis. I'm really looking forward to the sequel that's coming out later this year now. 

My Rating: 10/10