Sunday, July 23, 2017

The Big Sick

Plot:
Kumail is a stand up comedian who meets Emily (Zoe Kazan) and the two begin dating. As their relationship grows they must deal with their cultural differences and an unexpected event. 

Pros:
•Kumail Nanjiani was really good. Up until I saw this movie I hadn't seen much of his work. He's got great comedic timing of course but he handles the dramatic moments well too. There's some really touching moments in this movie and he just nails it. 
•While I enjoyed the scenes with Kumail and Emily and thought they had a lot of chemistry, probably my favorite moments were the ones where Kumail was bonding with Emily's parents. 
•Clever dialogue. 
•Laughs worked and never felt forced. 
•An honest look at relationships. 

Cons:
•Got off to a slow start in my opinion. Not that it was bad I just wasn't feeling it at first. As weird as it might sound, things really started to pick up for me once Emily went into a coma (they tell you this in the trailer so I don't consider it a spoiler). 

My Rating: 8.5/10

Paris Can Wait

Plot:
Anne (Diane Lane) is the wife of a successful movie producer (Alec Baldwin). One day she unexpectedly finds herself on a car trip from Cannes to Paris with one of her husband's business associates named Jacques (Arnaud Viard). 

Pros:
•Diane Lane is wonderful as always. 
•So much food and wine porn! Do not watch this movie on an empty stomach. 
•Beautiful locations. Makes you really feel like you're driving around France. 
•Moves at a slow pace but I never felt like I wanted to fall asleep. 
•Perfect movie to take your Mom or Grandmother to. 
•Directorial debut of Eleanor Coppola, wife of Francis Ford Coppola. She does a decent job and the story is apparently loosely based on an experience she had with her husband's business partner. 

Cons:
•Very simply story that plays it a little too safe. 
•For the most part the character of Jacques was completely insufferable. 
•A few rough spots with the editing. 
•Didn't really care for the ending. 

My Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, July 21, 2017

Dunkirk (IMAX)

Plot:
Based on the incredible true story of the evacuation of soldiers from the beaches and harbor of Dunkirk, France. 

Pros:
•Nolan has done it again! I was curious how he would tackle something that wasn't science fiction or a Batman movie, and he didn't disappoint. He truly is one of the greatest film makers out there. 
•Very impressed that he chose to use a lot of practical effects. 
•If you have an IMAX screen anywhere near you I highly recommend you see it in that format. This is the type of movie that it was made for. 
•One of the most gorgeous looking movies I've ever seen. 
•Sound mixing was incredible. The Academy might as well give them the Oscar for it now. 
•Acting was great. The ones that really stood out to me were Mark Rylance and, of course, my man Tom Hardy ;) Hell even Harry Styles was decent which I wasn't expecting. 
•It's nonstop tension from beginning to end. There were several moments where I could feel my heart pounding in my chest. 
•Edited so flawlessly that I wasn't confused much at all in terms of the movie being nonlinear. 
•If you're a fan of World War II movies you're going to love this. 

Cons:
•If there had just been a little more character development this would've been a perfect movie for me. I totally get what Nolan was going for and didn't need an entire backstory on everyone, but still. This is a very minor complaint however. Certainly nothing that should stop you from seeing the movie. 

My Rating: 9.5/10

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Moka

Plot:
A grieving mother goes in pursuit of the couple she believes killed her son in a hit and run. 

Pros:
•Very strong performance by Emmanuelle Devos. Hadn't heard of her before this, but I'm interested in seeing more of her work. 
•Supporting cast was good as well. 
•Nice locations. 
•Story wasn't quite as predictable as I thought it might be. 
•Deeply moving ending. 
•Doesn't always rely on dialogue, especially in the beginning. Sometimes a simple look between two characters works more effectively. 

Cons:
•A few rough spots with the editing. 
•Ending dragged on a bit too long. 
•While it's an interesting story, it's not something we haven't seen done a million times before. 

My Rating: 7/10

Friday, July 14, 2017

War for the Planet of the Apes

Plot:
Caesar (Andy Serkis) is forced into a deadly battle  against an army of humans led by The Colonel (Woody Harrelson). This battle will determine the fate of both species. 

Pros:
•Wow!! I know it's still early, but this was easily the best movie I've seen this year. An amazing conclusion to what I think is one of the best trilogies ever. 
•Groundbreaking visual effects. It's amazing to see how far we've come along in this department. It looks so real and to be honest, all the motion capture actors here gave way better performances than others that you physically see on screen. Speaking of which...
•When is the Academy going to wake the fuck up and give Andy Serkis the recognition he deserves. Motion capture IS acting. 
•It's been amazing to watch the character of Caesar grow from who he was in the first movie to this one. It makes sense for his character to end up where he did. 
•You would think a movie with the word War in the title would be nothing but action but while there are some great action sequences, there's plenty of quiet, dramatic scenes as well. Some of which have no dialogue. Not many movies could pull it off but this one does. 
•One actor that surprised me was Steve Zahn (an actor who I haven't always been the biggest fan of) as Bad Ape. His character is technically the comic relief but it's never over the top or takes you out of the movie. But I never laughed for too long because you can tell that Bad Ape has been through so much and I felt sorry for him. I teared up quite a bit during his scenes. This whole movie was really an emotional punch in the gut. I dare anyone to watch it and not cry. 
•Woody Harrelson was not the stereotypical villain I feared he would be. There's just enough depth to his character. Always been one of my favorite actors. 
•THIS is how you do a proper reboot. Movie studios take note. 
•Strong directing by Matt Reves. 
•Almost two and a half hours but it sure didn't feel like it. My eyes were glued to the screen the entire time. 
•There's so much more I want to say but I don't want to spoil this wonderful movie. 

Cons:
•NONE!! Everyone stop what you're doing and go see this. You won't regret it. 

My Rating: 10/10

Sunday, July 9, 2017

Obit

Plot:
Documentary about the New York Times obituary writers. 

Pros:
•Going into this movie I figured the obituary writers would be slightly odd and morbid but they weren't. They're just normal people doing their job. 
•It was interesting to see just what goes into writing an obituary- interviewing family members, research, deciding how long/short it should be, what if any pictures to use etc. Sometimes they have awhile to write them (in certain cases they write them years in advanced for celebrities who are getting up there in years or whose lifestyle might send them to an early grave) and other times it must be done quickly. For example, they talk about how Michael Jackson died in the late afternoon. Because of that, they only had about four hours to sum up his entire life. 
•Decently paced. 

Cons:
•While I thought this movie was pretty good, it does follow the standard things you see in a typical documentary and doesn't try to set itself apart. 
•Unless you're really interesting in this subject, I wouldn't really suggest seeing this in theaters. If you're bored on a Saturday afternoon and there's nothing else better on, watch this on tv or Netflix. 

My Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, July 7, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming

SPOILER ALERT: There's a few mild spoilers in my review but nothing major. 

Plot:
With help from his mentor Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.), Peter Parker (Tom Holland) balances his life between being a high school student and his role as Spider-Man. To add to everything, a new threat Vulture (Michael Keaton) emerges. 

Pros:
•Tom Holland is the best version of Spider-Man I've seen. Yes, even better than Toby MacGuire. For one, he actually looks like a high schooler. Also, he was able to play both Peter Parker and Spider-Man very well. In the past it's been either one or the other. 
•I was worried, judging from the trailers, that this would be the Tony Stark/Iron Man show but it's really not. RDJ is only in maybe a handful of scenes but all of them were great. I love the mentor/father figure role he's developed with Peter. You can tell he cares for the kid, in a Tony Stark way of course. 
•Humor really worked. I laughed quite a bit in this. 
•Michael Keaton was amazing as Vulture. Good Marvel villains don't come along too often. His character wasn't just evil for the sake of being evil. You get his back story and you completely understand his motivation for what he's doing and what lead him to this point. 
•There's two post credit scenes and both I enjoyed. The second one was especially brilliant. 
•Looks great in IMAX (the 3D was barely noticeable at times though)
•Didn't have to see Uncle Ben being murdered for the millionth time. 

Cons:
•Dragged a bit in spots. 
•A few cheesy moments in the final showdown. However, it wasn't quite as bad as the showdown in Wonder Woman. 

My Rating: 9/10

Friday, June 30, 2017

Baby Driver

Plot:
A talented young getaway driver named Baby (Ansel Elgort) is coerced into working for crime boss Doc (Kevin Spacey). He finds himself in a doomed heist which threatens to destroy everything and everyone he loves. 

Pros:
•I wasn't sure if I wanted to see this movie at first. But after hearing all the amazing reviews and being a fan of Edgar Wright I decided to give it a chance. I'm so glad I did. This was such a fun movie. 
•For the most part I've always liked Ansel Elgort. I'd say this is his best role yet. I always knew he could play charming but now I know he can be badass as well. I'd love  to see him do more roles like this. 
•Edgar Wright has another hit on his hands. Wonderful job directing, especially the action scenes which he manages to lineup perfectly with the kick ass soundtrack. 
•Strong supporting cast. Kevin Spacey was his usual awesome self. 
•Clever dialog and humor. 
•A lot of the movie was practical effects which I always appreciate whenever a movie goes this route. It looked really good here. They were able to do a lot with a fairly low budget. 
•Some of my favorite scenes aside from the action were actually Baby interacting with his foster Dad. Very touching which I wasn't expecting in a movie like this. 
•One of the very few movies in which shaky cam was used and I didn't walk out of the theater wanting to puke. 

Cons:
•Nothing I'm going to take major points off for. However, it did drag a bit for me in the beginning. Luckily the last two thirds more than made up for it. 
•While it's definitely one of the more original movies you'll see right now, it does follow a few of the same beats you usually see in this genre. 

My Rating: 9/10

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Slack Bay

SPOILER ALERT: It's almost impossible for me to review this movie without giving away a few slight spoilers. Nothing major though I promise. Honestly, this is one of those movies that I'm sure most of you won't see. 

Plot:
Set in 1910. A wealthy family visits their summer house in Slack Bay for an extended vacation. While there, the come across a police investigation into the disappearance of several tourists in the area. 

Pros:
•I'll give director Bruno Dumont credit for doing something different. This was unlike any other movie I've seen this year. 
•Most of the acting was fine. 
•The movie was shot well. It had this almost dreamlike quality to it. 
•Nice locations. 

Cons:
•Had a very odd, dark sense of humor that, while not necessarily bad, I personally didn't care for. I can see why others might like it though. In many ways it reminds me of The Lobster. 
•Random incest and cannibalism. I seem to be seeing more and more movies and tv shows doing that these days. What's up with that?
•The only actress I recognized in this was Juliette Binoche (she's worked with this director before). Normally I'm a big fan of her work but her character in this was so over the top and downright annoying. Eventually more is revealed about her backstory and you can understand why she is the way she is but still. Take it down a few notches. 
•Didn't need to be two hours long. It drags so much at times. They could've easily cut out a good 20-30 minutes. 

My Rating: 6/10

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Chasing Trane

Plot:
Documentary about the life and music of John Coltrane. 

Pros:
•Major props to director John Schienfeld for creating this wonderful documentary that not only showed you Coltrane's impact on music but who he was as a person. You can tell he did his research. I felt like it was a very loving tribute. 
•Doesn't shy away from the not so great moments in Coltrane's life, including his heavy drug use at one point. 
•Insightful interviews with his family and friends as well as the many people he's influenced over the years. 
•While it does follow a lot of the things you see in a standard documentary there's several moments where they do some cool things visually to tell his story. Very creative. 
•Narration by Denzel Washington. How cool is that?
•If you're a Coltrane fan or just a music fan in general, you're going to love this. If you're like me and are lucky enough to have a theater near you playing it, go see it. So worth the money. 

Cons:
•Nothing major, just a few moments in the middle and towards the end where I felt like it dragged a bit. 

My Rating: 8.5/10

Saturday, June 17, 2017

All Eyez On Me

Plot:
Biopic of rapper Tupac Shakur. 

Pros:
•If I'm being honest, the only positive thing I can say about the movie is the guy they got to play Tupac looks so much like him it's scary. And he does a decent enough job. Had he had a more competent director he probably would've been even better. 

Cons:
•Where do I even begin? I don't know a whole lot about Tupac. I mean, obviously I know who he was and like some of his music. I do know he deserves way better than this shit. 
•For a movie that was damn near two and a half hours, it sure felt rushed. They glossed over his entire story. Seriously, within the span of about 15 minutes (if that) it went from Afeni Shakur being pregnant with Tupac, him as a kid, to when he made his first album. 
•Who the fuck thought it was a good idea to let Benny Boom direct this? Up until recently I hadn't even heard of him. Clearly he's incompetent and didn't give a fuck. This felt like one of those awful biopics that Lifetime likes to do, just with a bigger budget. 
•Horribly written script. 
•Poor acting by the supporting cast. 
•Don't even get me started on the way they handled Tupac's murder. 
•I can't believe I'm saying this but King Arthur is no longer the worst movie I've seen this year. While technically speaking King Arthur was worse in the sense that it was edited in a fucking blender and I had no idea what was happening on screen half the time, at least I only walked out of it confused and not angry like I did with this. I can only imagine how hardcore Tupac fans must be feeling right now. 
•Benny Boom should never be allowed to make another movie again. 
•Avoid this at all cost. I'm begging you. 

My Rating: 2/10

Sunday, June 11, 2017

My Cousin Rachel

Plot:
A young man named Philip (Sam Claflin) plots revenge against his mysterious cousin Rachel (Rachel Weisz) whom he believes had something to do with his guardian's death. 

Pros:
•Beautiful locations, cinematography, and costumes. 
•Sam Claflin, while I wouldn't call this his best role, gives a pretty decent performance. I liked his scenes with Holiday Granger and felt they had good chemistry. 
•The ending is kind of ambiguous and while I don't always like when a movie does this I felt like it worked here. I enjoy a good mystery. 

Cons:
•I like Rachel Weisz but I feel like she was miscast here. She also had zero chemistry with Sam Claflin. 
•One of the love scenes was so cheesy (you see part of it in the trailer) and bad that I couldn't help but laugh. 
•I haven't read the novel that this is based on, but it felt very rushed. Like I was getting the cliff notes version. 
•Trailer pretty much gives most of the movie away.
•While I wouldn't call this a terrible movie, it's not something I would suggest seeing in theaters. If you think you might be interested, wait until it comes to Netflix. 

My Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, June 9, 2017

It Comes At Night

SPOILER ALERT: While I don't think anything I've said in my review would ruin the movie for you, I'm going to add this just in case. If there are any spoilers they're only VERY minor. 

Plot:
While an unknown threat is terrorizing the world, a man named Paul (Joel Edgerton) has established a secure home in the remote forest with his wife Sarah (Carmen Ejogo) and son Travis (Kelvin Harrison Jr.). Things are put to the test when they encounter a desperate family. 

Pros:
•Joel Edgerton continues to be one of my favorite actors. Here he delivers another brilliant performance. Yes his character ends up doing some horrific things but honestly, if I were living in that world and put in the same situation I'd probably do the same. 
•Doesn't rely on blood and gore. It's very tense but in a subtle way with the long shots and music. 
•I loved the way director Trey Edward Shultz shot this movie. It has the look and feel of something from the 70s/early 80s. Nice cinematography. He's also very good with actors which I was already aware of having seen his debut movie Krisha. While I remember not really caring for that movie overall I could see his potential. I'm glad he got another chance to direct because with he's gotten even better. I'll definitely go see his next movie. 
•It's a slow burn but not once was I bored or felt the need to check the time. 

Cons:
•If you go into this expecting your typical horror movie (the way the trailers have been marketing it) then you're going to be disappointed. This is more of a post apocalyptic, atmospheric, psychological thriller with some horror elements. I'm totally fine with this type of movie and it in no way affects my rating. Just something you should be aware of if you're thinking about seeing this. 
•A few too many dream sequences for my liking. 
•The way it ends leaves more questions than answers. Not that I needed everything answered but I would've liked just a little more explanation. I walked out of the theater wondering what exactly it was the director was trying to say. 
•Be prepared to watch a lot of comedies after you see this movie. You're going to need it. This was one of the most depressing things I've seen in a long time. 

My Rating: 7.5/10

Sunday, June 4, 2017

Norman

Plot:
Norman (Richard Gere) is a small time operator living in New York who befriends a politician and suddenly his left from changes. 

Pros:
•Richard Gere gives a rather interesting performance. I mean that in a good way. His character does come off as annoying but by the end you also sympathize with him. 
•Great supporting cast as well, including Lior Ashkenazi, Michael Sheen, and Dan Stevens. 
•Clever script. 
•I liked what the director did in terms of shooting some of the scenes. 
•Some people might not care for the ending but I thought it worked here. 

Cons:
•This movie is divided into four acts. It had some issues in terms of pacing especially in the beginning. Also, I didn't feel like it needed to be almost two hours. It would've worked better had they cut out maybe fifteen minutes (mainly in acts two and three). 
•If you think this is something you would like to see, I would wait until it comes to Netflix. Overall I liked this movie but it's not something I would pay money to see in theaters. 

My Rating: 7/10

The Lost City of Z

Plot:
Based on the true story of Percy Fawcett (Charlie Hunnam)- a British explorer who, at the dawn of the 20th century, discovers evidence of an advanced civilization that at one time may have lived there. 

Pros:
•A wonderful, epic adventure that reminded me very much of the ones I use to watch growing up. They don't make too many movies like this anymore. I wish this had done better at the box office. 
•This is definitely the better of the two Charlie Hunnam movies I've seen this year. He's amazing here and it was interesting to see how his character developed from the beginning of the movie until the end. 
•I appreciate that director James Gray not glamorizing the jungle the way other directors might and instead showing just how brutal it is. You see men sweating and covered in dirt, getting eaten alive, wounds getting infected, and so much more. 
•Robert Pattinson does a good job as well and is unrecognizable. Had I not known ahead of time I never would've guessed it was him. He's a great actor when given the right material. 
•Some of the scenes were very dimly shot which might normally bother me but I felt it worked here. 

Cons:
•Nothing major really. Just there were a few moments where the actors were speaking low and with such thick accents that it was hard to understand what they were saying. 
•Tom Holland, who I think is great as Spider-Man, annoyed me a little in this. 

My Rating: 9/10 

Friday, June 2, 2017

Wonder Woman

Plot:
Before she was Wonder Woman she was Diana (Gal Gadot)- Amazon princess and fierce warrior. One day a pilot (Chris Pine) crashes on her island and tells her of the Great War going on in the outside world. Believing she can help, Diana leaves home where she discovers her true destiny. 

Pros:
•COLOR!!! Glorious color. Seems silly to get excited over something like this but I'm sure if you're like me and have seen all the DC movies since Snyder took over you'll understand. 
•Gal Gadot, who in my opinion was one of the few good things about BvS, really shines here. It's always nice to see a bad ass female superhero. Patty Jenkins really brought her to life for me. I hope they continue to let her direct movies in this universe. She's really good at it. 
•Chris Pine was really good in this as well. Not only does he do drama well, but his comedic timing is great. He and Gal Gadot also had very good chemistry. Never felt cheesy at all to me. 
•Most of the action scenes were well choreographed. 
•I wasn't crazy about the Wonder Woman theme when they first introduced it in BvS, but after this I have to say it's grown on me. It was used way better here. 
•Almost two and a half hours but it sure didn't feel like it. Kept me entertained. 
•I opted to see this in 2D and it looks just fine. 
• I can't even begin to tell you how nice it is to have a decent DC movie again. Lord knows they needed it. 

Cons:
•Villain was extremely disappointing. 
•The final showdown/battle scene was such a mess. Reminded me very much of BvS (but please don't let this stop you from seeing Wonder Woman. Overall it's a great movie). If it wasn't for this I would've rated it much higher. 

My Rating: 8/10

Sunday, May 28, 2017

Their Finest

Plot:
Catrin Cole (Gemma Arteron), a former secretary, is hired as a scriptwriter for a propaganda film as World War II rages on around them. 

Pros:
•I had been wanting to see this movie for awhile. Going into it, I expected a light hearted sort of comedy and while at times it is that, it's also a very well written drama that doesn't shy away from showing the tragedy of war. 
•Gemma Arteron and Sam Claflin were absolutely wonderful together. Great chemistry. 
•Characters were very likable. 
•Fascinating look into the film industry in Britain during the war. 
•Story moved at a good pace and kept me interested the whole time. 
•Beautiful score by Rachel Portman. 

Cons:
•There's only one I can think of and it's very minor- the ending. It's not bad at all, I just personally wish it had ended differently. Still, it's one of the best movies I've seen this year and I highly recommend it. 

My Rating: 9/10

A Quiet Passion

Plot:
The story of poet Emily Dickinson (Cynthia Nixon). 

Pros:
•Beautiful cinematography and costumes. Really makes you feel like you're in that time period.
•Strong performances, especially Cynthia Nixon and Jennifer Ehle. 
•If you're a fan of Emily Dickson, by all means check this out. However, I wouldn't say it's something I'd pay to see in theaters. More of a Netflix watch. 
•Clearly the director had good intentions and was a fan. 

Cons:
•Very dry at times to the point where I found myself falling asleep. 
•Some odd choices in terms of editing and story structure. 
•Doesn't offer anything new. 
•While I thought Cynthia Nixon was very good, there were some moments where I felt she was too overly dramatic. To the point where I almost laughed out loud. 

My Rating: 6.5/10

Friday, May 26, 2017

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (3D)

Plot:
In this fifth installment, Captain Jack Sparrow (Johnny Depp) is being hunted down by someone from his past- Captain Salazar (Javier Bardem). His only hope to survive is finding the legendary trident of Poseidon. 

Pros:
•Well, its better than the last movie. Not that that's saying much. Honestly though, this movie was okay. Not as good as the first three of course, but I don't think it deserves 33% on Rotten Tomatoes. 
•Some really fun action scenes, mainly at the beginning. The guillotine scene for example. 
•The flashback scene explaining Salazar's history with Jack was interesting. I only wish they had taken the time to develop this subplot and cut out a few of the other characters that in the end didn't amount to anything. 
•Some of the humor worked. I laughed quite a bit at times. 
•I thought Hans Zimmer had done the score for this one (the way he did the previous four) but he didn't. Whoever did the score this time around sounds very similar to his style. I enjoyed it though. 
•Orlando Bloom & Kiera Knightly!!! 

Cons:
•As much as I liked Salazar, the special effects on him were some of the worst I've seen in awhile (especially the scenes during the day). When I saw the trailer a few months ago I was hoping this was because they were still in post production and not finished with the effects yet. Nope. It looks even worse when you see it on the big screen. 
•They need to stop trying to make Brenton Thwaites a leading man. It's NEVER going to happen. The guy has zero charisma. Of course a lot of my hatred for him has to do with the fact that he was in Gods of Egypt and every time I see his face I'm reminded that I saw that piece of shit in theaters *shudders*
•Once again the 3D was barely noticeable. If you're going to see this in theaters I'd strongly suggest 2D. I would've done that myself had the showtimes worked for me. 
•Yes there's an after credits scene. All I'll say is it looks like we're going to get at least one more movie *sigh* They should've just ended this franchise after the third one. 

My Rating: 7/10

Friday, May 19, 2017

Alien: Covenant

Plot:
The crew of a colony ship set off for a remote planet. When they arrive, they discover more than what they bargained for. 

Pros:
•Definitely nailed down the look of the original two movies. 
•I enjoyed all of the sci fi aspects. 
•Aliens looked pretty badass. Not sure how much of it was practical effects and how much was cgi. I'm guessing it was mostly the latter. Either way, job well done. 
•One of the creepiest movies I've seen in awhile. 
•The human characters do some really dumb shit here but for some reason, it didn't bother me as much as it does in similar movies of this genre. 
•Michael Fassbender, in a duel role as both Walter and David, was by far the best part of this movie. I felt more for these two than I did almost all of the humans. 
•If you're a fan of the original two, I definitely think you'll like this. Out of all the movies in this franchise, I'd say it's the third best. Not that that's hard to do. 

Cons:
•I liked the first half much better than the second half. The second half wasn't bad, it just delved more into the horror genre and I just didn't care for it as much. 
•While most of the writing was decent, there were a few bits of dialog (mainly one scene in particular) that were so awful several of us in the theater busted out laughing. 
•The ending. God damn it Ridley Scott!! You were thisclose to having an almost perfect movie. I won't spoil it, all I'll say is I so called that twist and felt like it was a fuck you to the audience. Not enough for me not to recommend it, but I had to take a point off my rating. It literally had me saying "Fuck you!" to the screen. 

My Rating: 7.5/10

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Graduation

Graduation 

Plot:
Dr. Romeo Aldea (Adrian Titieni) is a loving father who wants nothing more than to see his only child Eliza (Maria Dragus) succeed. One day, something happens to Eliza that could jeopardize her future. Romeo will stop at nothing to fix the situation. 

Pros:
•Strong acting, especially by Adrian Titieni. 
•Interesting story about the role of a parent. And what lengths one would go to help their child. 

Cons:
•Some scenes were so poorly lit I could barely tell what was happening. 
•Fucking shaky cam! While it thankfully got better as the movie went on I still have to take a point off. 
•Moved at an agonizingly slow pace. At one point I thought for sure the movie would be wrapping up soon, only to look up at the clock and see there was still another hour left. I couldn't help but roll my eyes. Never a good sign. 
•The movie is a little over two hours and it didn't need to be. They couldn't cut out a good 20 minutes of scenes that when all was sad and done didn't mean anything. 
•While I wouldn't call this a bad movie, I can't say I'd recommend it either. 

My Rating: 6/10

Friday, May 12, 2017

King Arthur: Legend of the Sword

Plot:
The story of King Arthur (Charlie Hunnam), this time from the crazy mind of director Guy Ritchie. 

Pros:
•I'll give Guy Ritchie credit for trying to do something different. This is unlike any other version of King Arthur I've ever seen. 
•Charlie Hunnam. The main reason I had any desire to see this movie. Hell its the ONLY reason. He does a good job given the material he has to work with. He looks amazing as always. Very charming. The things I would do to that man. 
•When the movie was moving at a decent pace (which wasn't often at ALL) it had some nice sets. 

Cons:
•Guy Ritchie has officially crossed over into Zack Snyder territory. Not quite Michael Bay yet but he's getting there. Holy shit. This whole slow mo then speed it up thing he does hasn't gotten really old. It worked in the Sherlock Holmes movies and some of his other ones. It doesn't work here. 
•James Herbert. If you ever see this man's name listed in the credits as the editor of a movie you're about to watch, do yourself a favor- RUN!!!! This is some of the worst editing I've seen in my life. Most of the time I had absolutely no idea what was happening from scene to scene. At times it gave me a headache. 
•Everyone on this production (especially Guy Ritchie and James Herbert) must have done some serious drugs. Only explanation I can think of. 
•Makes me want to watch Suicide Squad again.
•Jude Law (a great actor that I normally like) is the very definition of "I don't give a fuck!" here. 
•Apparently Guy Ritchie wants this to be the first in a six movie series. HA HA HA HA HA!!!!!!!!
•I expected to walk out of this angry but I'm not. I'm just confused and stunned at the train wreck that I just witnessed. It's really something you have to see to believe. But for the love of god DO NOT see this in theaters. 

My Rating: 5/10

Sunday, May 7, 2017

Karl Marx City

Plot:
A filmmaker looks into her father's suicide in what use to be East Germany. 

Pros:
•An interesting look into Germany and what it was like for the people living there both before and after the wall fell. 
•Some really nice shots and locations. 
•Good interviews. 

Cons:
•The film is shot almost entirely in black and white. I'm sure the director had her reason but I felt like it didn't add anything. 
•Leaves you with more questions than answers. 
•Narrator's voice was so dull that at times I found myself starting to nod off. 

My Rating: 7/10

Friday, May 5, 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (IMAX 3D)

Plot:
Peter Quill/Star Lord (Chris Pratt), Gamora (Zoe Saldana), Drax (Dave Bautista), Rocket (Bradley Cooper), and Baby Groot (Vin Diesel) continue their adventures all over the galaxy. Along the way they discover the truth about Peter's father. 

Pros:
•Didn't really spend any time on Earth. They explored and expanded upon other parts of the galaxy which I thought was cool. 
•Such a visually gorgeous movies. Definitely should be seen in IMAX if possible. 3D was actually good too. 
•I'm still amazed at what Marvel and James Gunn has been able to pull off with this. Very proud to be a Marvel bitch right now. 
•If you loved the humor in the first movie, there's even more of it here. I was laughing so hard throughout the whole thing my stomach was hurting. Haven't had this much fun at a movie in awhile. 
•Chris Pratt remains just as charming as ever. 
•Overall a way better villain than the first movie. Not that that was hard to do. 
•Baby Groot.... so fucking adorable! 
•Not only was there a lot of humor but some surprisingly touching moments as well. 

Cons:
•While I liked the villain for the most part, some things that are revealed that had me rolling my eyes a bit. Also, their motivations were a little confusing. 
•It's true, there are FIVE (yes five!) post credits scenes. I'll be honest, this was the one thing that pissed me off about the movie and is preventing me from giving it a perfect rating. They were a complete waste of time and did nothing really to set up any of the other movies like they normally do. Not sure what the hell Marvel was thinking when they came up with this but they really need to go back to doing just one or two. 

My Rating: 9/10

Sunday, April 30, 2017

Going In Style

Plot:
Seniors Willie (Morgan Freeman), Joe (Michael Caine), and Albert (Alan Arkin) have hit some very rough times and decide they've had enough! Their plan? Rob a bank. 

Pros:
•Michael Caine, Morgan Freeman, and Alan Arkin were absolutely delightful. I've always been a fan of all three. It looks like they were having a blast filming this. 
•Going into this I thought it would mostly a comedy and while it is very funny, there were some touching moments as well. 
•Very interesting and relevant social commentary. I think there's something in here that everyone can relate to, no matter how old you are. 
•A great movie to take your parents or grandparents to. 
•Until the credits rolled, I had no idea that Zach Braff had directed this. When given the right material he's actually a decent director. He's good with actors and keeps thing moving at a nice pace. 

Cons:
•Doesn't really have too many surprises. I was pretty much able to predict most of what happened. 
•Poor Christopher Lloyd. It's sad to see what he's become. Luckily his role in this is very small. 

My Rating: 8/10

The Artist's Garden: American Impressionism

Plot:
Documentary about the American Impressionist movement, featuring the works of many artists from that time. 

Pros:
•I kind of like movies like this and what they try to do. If you've always wanted to visit museums and see many of these beautiful paintings but don't have the time or the money, you're in luck. They bring them to you on the big screen and make you feel like you're there. 
•Extremely gorgeous looking movie. Not only the paintings but the locations as well. 
•Keeps it short. The whole movie is barely an hour and a half. 

Cons:
•Doesn't really offer any new information about that time period. 
•Unless you're a big art fan, I can't really recommend you see this in theaters. It's not bad by any means but unless you're into the subject, it can come across as very dull. 

My Rating: 7/10

Sunday, April 23, 2017

Frantz

Plot:
Following WWI, a young German woman named Anna (Paula Beer) is mourning the loss of her fiancĂ©. One day she meets a mysterious Frenchman (Pierre Niney) who has been visiting her fiancĂ©'s grave. 

Pros:
•This is one of the most beautiful looking films I've seen in awhile. Most of it is in black & white but there's a handful of scenes in color spread throughout. The director did a flawless job transitioning from one to the other. 
•Very well written and heartbreaking story. 
•I thought it was interesting and insightful the way they showed the effects WWI had on both the Germans and the French. 
•Outstanding performances by both lead actors. 
•Wasn't as predictable as I thought it might be. I thought I had the twist all figured out but when it's revealed I was like "Oh shit. It all makes sense now."

Cons:
•Dragged a little bit towards the end. If they had just cut maybe 10 minutes it would've been a damn near flawless movie. 

My Rating: 9/10

Friday, April 21, 2017

Gifted

Plot:
Frank (Chris Evans) is raising his niece Mary (Mckenna Grace), a child prodigy. Suddenly he's thrown into a custody battle with his mother (Lindsay Duncan). 

Pros:
•Mckenna Grace is by far the best part of this movie. She's only 10 but she's quite a good actress. Very funny as well and not in that obnoxious way like many child actors are. I got a few genuine laughs during some of her scenes. She and Chris Evans worked very well together. 
•Speaking of Chris Evans, he once again gives a good performance. I totally understand him wanting to do a quieter role like this. 
•Marc Webb is a fairly competent director. Yes I know he did the Amazing Spider-Man movies but all the issues they had were not his fault. 
•Some really gorgeous shots. 
•Short and moves at a good pace which I always appreciate. The whole movie is only about and hour and forty minutes. 

Cons:
•Extremely predictable. If you've seen the trailer you can pretty much guess how it'll all turn out. 
•While I thought the story was very sweet and had some genuinely touching moments, I felt like they played it way too safe. There's so much more they could've done with it. 
•Aside from Mckenna Grace and Chris Evans, the characters were very one dimensional. 
•Most of the movie was filmed well but for some reason there were a few scenes where March Webb chose to use a handheld camera (orbit seemed like he did). Very distracting and made me nauseous. I wanted to yell at the screen, "Oh for fucks sake!! Keep the camera still!"
•The courtroom scenes, while not the worst I've seen, felt like something from those made for TV movies I use to watch in the 90s all the time. 
•The whole love interest subplot with Mary's teacher added absolutely nothing to the story. 
•While a decent enough movie, it's not something I'd say you should see in theaters. This would be something I would normally watch on a Sunday afternoon if it was on tv and I was in the mood for a drama. 

My Rating: 7.5/10